Living with Purpose

Have you ever been on a plane, sitting in coach, and you experience turbulence? Your stomach drops, your heart rate races, and you feel helpless because you can’t see what’s ahead and you have no choice but to trust the pilot.  You have no control over the plane. That is difficult for us to handle. My western way of thinking is about controlling my life, my decisions, forming my purpose in life. This move has forever changed our thought process, and has shown us how we live with purpose.

The months preparing to move was probably the most difficult thing we have ever done. Why were we selling our house, cars, getting rid of everything, saying bye to everyone we know, giving up great jobs for jobs that paid 60% less, taking on jobs that neither Deana or I had any experience or education in, giving up our comfortable lives within the “American Dream?” People gave us encouragement, but the fact is that we were terrified, experienced anxiety, and felt like we were sitting in coach going through intense turbulence, and we couldn’t level the plane out.  It would be my 6 year old daughter that would turn on the light bulb and help us understand the answer. Me-“Kadence, get your clothes on for school.” Her-“Why?” Me-“Because we have to get going to school soon.” Her-“Why?” Me-“Because we don’t want to be late.” Her- “Why?” Me-“BECAUSE I SAID SO, NOW DO IT!” Her-“Why?”  I think about how many times God tells me to do something, and my question is always “Why?” Why do I need more of an explanation than to have faith that God is the best pilot and will get us to our destination. I can imagine how frustrated He must get with me for not turning to prayer.

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.”  Matthew 7:7-8

Jesus says that if we pray, we will be answered. Why is it so hard to get on the plane and let God pilot? Jesus bought us a first class ticket and all we have to do is accept our first class seat on the plane. I am caught up in my skepticism so many times and pray as a last resort, instead of seeking Him first. In this move we literally had nothing, came to a new place, not knowing what to do. We began to question why we are here, and what is our purpose. We had to re-shape our minds to think differently. When we prayed it was skeptic, not sure if it was going to be answered. As we are removed from western society, we are exposed to a large variety of cultures and thought processes. We have seen people totally relaxed, and always praying first. Why? Because they have no money, or possessions to cling on to. Their faith is it. So, we have continued to try to develop a new way of thinking and to pray first and God has answered.

Deana is doing fabulous in her teaching and ideas for projects just keep popping into her head, in subject areas that she has no experience in. She has created amazing science projects, and has incorporated technology that none of the middle school has even thought about. She works with confidence knowing she is right where God wants her and helps her everyday.

As for me, I am blown away everyday at how God helps me. I came in to teach technology, and truth be told, I know very little about computers or teaching technology. So many teachers and students have come to me to fix computer issues, and part of my job is to write a technology curriculum from scratch. God has continuously guided my hands and my mind where every time someone asks me a question I have an answer pop into my head, or I just happen to click on the right button to fix the problem.  God has guided my mind to develop a solid curriculum that integrates core content with technology skills. I do not have the capability mentally to keep up with this, but God has made me successful. I know that in this moment and at this place is where God wants me. This is my purpose.

“I can do all this through him who gives me strength.” Philippians 4:13

It is comforting to know that in this moment you are right where God wants you to be and doing what God wants you to do. Accept the free plane ticket from Christ to sit in first class because guess where the plane lands? HEAVEN How cool is that.

2 thoughts on “Living with Purpose

  1. Of course I am going to like and comment on this! Thank you guys for being such a tremendous inspiration to us here! This was a fantastic message for me today! Miss and love you guys.

  2. Chuck, it is sooo comforting to me to hear that you were not entirely comfortable with making the move you did. That confirms to me it was Gods lead and not your choice. I have been so worried about your decision and many aspects of it but mainly for you and your familys safety. Reading this last blog has really calmed my fears to know that know matter what happens it is in Gods purpose and you are in the safety of His hands. Thankyou for sharing. It has meant alot to me. I can also see how this teaching he has given you can parallel with my own life in an area we were asked to walk in and question many times if what we did was for the best of all concerned. Bless you and Deanna for your blind committment! Hugs!!

Leave a comment